I don’t flippin’ believe it

I stayed home today to work on a computer program that will sort through all of Ken McRae’s features and group them together. Unfortunately, the network was a bit messed up, so I was unable to use the internet for most of the day, and I think the mess-up was affecting my router because even internally my network was having some problems (that is, until I disconnected the modem from the router). The upshot of all this was that, even though I’ve been at my computer for probably 8 of the last 11 hours, I wasn’t able to get as much done as I would have liked — although the internet being unavailable prevented me from wasting lots of time on Fark.com or facebook, it also prevented me from figuring out how to make a tree structure in Java.
 
So for most of the day I’ve been sitting at this here windows computer, the one that was in the shop for 3 weeks with a mystery problem for which the only solution the guy could come up with was to reformat, reinstall and hand me the bill (annoying, because I could have done that myself). So I was lead to suppose that it was misconfigured software. Maybe something weird I installed. Well, just 5 minutes ago, I got on gold old Mozilla Firefox and did a search on a website. Then *poof*. Screen went black and nothing else seemed to be going on. So I hit the hard reset button. Log in again, start up firefox again, which offers to restore the browser to the pages it was on before. I took it up on its offer. Again click the form button to submit the form that I was using and again: *poof*.
 
So I thought I’d write and bitch about it again before I try out that website again. Using IE this time, and then again using firefox. I need to get to the bottom of this, because this computer is nowhere near the end of its expected lifespan.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I don’t flippin’ believe it

  1. johnny says:

    interesting router issue.  i would guess that one of two things was happening:  1. someone was targeting your network with a whole lot of data/attacks or 2. someone on your immediate cable network  was sending out far too many broadcast packets.the router has to process all the crap that flies out of the cable modem which is just a relay to the network, so if it is busy processing all that crap (look at it, say this ain\’t for us, drop it) it could take up most of the processing power so routing internal packets would suffer. i had some issues last week where my upload ability was throttled down from 300kbit to about 8… making my VoIP business line unusable for anything but listening.

  2. Christopher says:

    Well, we do have bittorrent running nonstop, trying to download Charmed Season 5 so Rebecca can get her fix…

Leave a comment