Layabout

It’s been awhile, I know. Again, I blame my computer situation: can’t edit these pages from my only functioning desktop computer at home because this website uses broken HTML that Firefox 2 on Linux won’t tolerate. Still considering retiring this blog and moving over to blogspot.
 
So this weekend we jointly celebrated Erin’s birthday (which was Saturday the 15th) and mine (which is tomorrow, the 18th). Rebecca’s parents gave my a gift bag brimming with chocolates, most of them decadent. My sister- and brother-in-law also gave me the traditional 1lb fancy chocolate bar (and RONA gift certificate, to be spent on a stand for my compunt miter saw). So all this means is that it’s a damn good thing that I am playing soccer and ultimate frisbee this fall, or else I would be extremely fat. It also means that I will be asking for liposuction and a new insulin-producing pancreas for Christmas.
 
The other thing is that when we came back from dinner to pick up Pokey, there was a box of junk that Rebecca’s dad brought up for her to go through. In this box was a shoebox filled with academic award plaques, of which I don’t recall ever having any. So that lead me to wonder: how is it that I got to finish 3 university degrees, and am working on a PhD in the area of cognitive neuroscience, but never received, oh I don’t know, maybe a science award or something?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Layabout

  1. Unknown says:

    Turns out your birthday present was on my dresser…but I didn\’t go up there before we left for dinner, so I didn\’t know it was there. Alas, I am a turd. 

Leave a comment