Developmental trajectory

Today, Pokey and I are wearing the same outfit: an orange waffle-weave crewneck pullover and navy blue pants (his are fleece; mine are denim). You will submit to the cuteness.
 
I also wanted to post an update that I think is kind of interesting from a concept-development sort of perspective (which is what I do for a living). I noticed yesterday (or maybe it was the day before) that Pokey, who is turning 1 on Sunday, has learned that keys are things that are somehow used in locks, which are in turn found on doors. Carrying him past our keyholder, he points at the keys to tell me he wants to go over there. There, he grabs a key. He then points to the door and does the same thing. Standing at lock level beside the door, he touches the key to the deadbolt. One of the things that we never know in concept development is the trajectory for learning about things in the world. This anecdote will probably find its way into a talk sometime.
This entry was posted in Midgets and other small things. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Developmental trajectory

  1. Unknown says:

    All this, and yet he forgets that the wet finger goes in the OTHER person\’s ear. Lately he\’s been wet-willy-ing himself. Either he\’s retarded or what I thought was his initial "wet willy learning" was actually a fluke.
     
    I\’ll keep on him…

Leave a comment